NQ Councils Appoint New Chair

The five-member councils of the North Queensland Regional Organisation of Councils (NQROC) has appointed, Burdekin Mayor Lyn McLaughlin as the new chair of the organisation.

Burdekin Mayor Lyn McLaughlinCouncillor McLaughlin takes the reins from Townsville Mayor Jenny Hill and says she is looking forward to her role.

The Group includes Charters Towers, Townsville, Burdekin, Hinchinbrook and Palm Island and aims to give local councils across the region a united voice on issues relative to the regions.

Cr McLaughlin says there’s a solid bond between the member councils.

“We have a real opportunity to build on these strong partnerships to achieve some great wins for our region in the year ahead.”

NQROC has also appointed its first executive officer.