New Faces for key Portfolios affecting Our Towns

Premier Annastacia Palaszczuk has vowed her new Ministry will deliver for Queensland as we see a change of faces for key portfolios affecting Our Towns and they are faces not overly familiar with Our Towns.

Annastacia Palaszczuk

The Premier said the 18-Member Cabinet and five Assistant Ministers were the right mix of experience and regional representation to deliver greater economic prosperity and government services for all Queenslanders.

“Cabinet will have equal representation of men and women, and four of the five Assistant Ministers are women.”

“Our Government – of 25 men and 23 women – represents a State that will be soon be home to five million people spread across more than 1.7 million square kilometres.”

But despite the claims, Ipswich-based Jennifer Howard is as far west as anyone in the cabinet line-up goes and only two of the 18 frontbench ministers announced this afternoon are from out outside Brisbane- Cairns-based MP Craig Crawford and Townsville-based MP Coralee O’Rourke.

Four assistant ministers are from outside the capital city-Glenn Butcher (Gladstone), Julieanne Gilbert (Mackay), Brittany Lauga (Keppel), and Meaghan Scanlon (Gold Coast).

None of the five have been appointed to assist with Queensland’s $20 billion agricultural sector.

The Cabinet will be:
• Premier and Minister for Trade Annastacia Palaszczuk
• Deputy Premier, Treasurer and Minister for Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Partnerships Jackie Trad
• Minister for State Development, Infrastructure and Planning and Minister for Manufacturing Cameron Dick
• Minister for Innovation, Minister for Tourism Industry Development, and Minister for the Commonwealth Games Kate Jones
• Attorney-General, Minister for Justice and Leader of the House Yvette D’Ath
• Minister for Health and Minister for Ambulance Services Dr Steven Miles
• Minister for Education and Minister for Industrial relations Grace Grace
• Minister for Transport and Main Roads Mark Bailey
• Minister for Natural Resources, Mines and Energy Dr Anthony Lynham
• Minister for Housing and Public Works, Minister for Digital Technology and Minister for Sport Mick de Brenni
• Minister for Employment and Small Business and Minister for Training and Skills Development Shannon Fentiman
• Minister for Environment and the Great Barrier Reef, Minister for Science and Minister for the Arts Leeanne Enoch
• Minister for Police and Minister Corrective Services Mark Ryan
• Minister for Communities and Minister for Disability Services and Seniors Coralee O’Rourke
• Minister for Agricultural Industry Development and Fisheries Mark Furner
• Minister for Local Government, Minister for Racing and Minister for Multicultural Affairs Stirling Hinchliffe
• Minister for Child Safety, Youth and Women and Minister for the Prevention of Domestic and Family Violence Di Farmer
• Minister for Fire and Emergency Services Craig Crawford
Assistant Ministers
• Assistant Minister for Veterans Affairs and Assistant Minister of State Jennifer Howard (Ipswich)
• Assistant Minister for Treasury Glenn Butcher (Gladstone)
• Assistant Minister for State Development Julieanne Gilbert (Mackay)
• Assistant Minister for Education Brittany Lauga (Keppel)
• Assistant Minister for Tourism Industry Development Meaghan Scanlon (Gold Coast)

Meanwhile the LNP will meet today top elect its new Parliamentary Leader with a three way contest between John Paul Langbroek, Deb Frecklington and Mark Robinson.