New Donors – More Cash

More than $525,000 in grants are available from The Foundation for Rural and Regional Renewal for rural, regional and remote communities to address local community priorities.

Thank You2
The organisation says the generous support from more than 15 partners, including new or returning donors Australia Post, Portland House Foundation, John T Reid Charitable Trusts and Sidney Myer Fund, means that more community groups nationwide will be able to apply for up to $5,000 to support projects that strengthen their community.

Priority will be given to towns of 10,000 people or fewer.

Applications close on 26 September 2018.-visit the Small Grants page on the FRRR website.

CEO Natalie Egleton says that the Small Grants for Rural Communities program is deliberately flexible.

“One of the most under-funded areas that we uncovered in a recent review was support to strengthen the resilience and capacity of local, often volunteer-led, non-profit organisations. We are delighted that Australia Post has responded to this gap and provided funds that will go toward supporting leadership development and capacity building of rural, regional and remote communities.”

Another area that will receive more focus is health and wellbeing, thanks to the John T Reid Charitable Trusts-This year FRRR was the recipient of a 60th Anniversary grant to help improve health and wellbeing outcomes in rural, regional and remote communities.

Australia Post Head of Strategic Partnerships and Programs, Catherine McKean, says the organisation is pleased to help empower local leaders build more vibrant and inclusive communities.

Chairman of the John T Reid Charitable Trusts, Belinda Lawson, they have supported FRRR for many years and seen first-hand the difference small grants can make.

The new donors join David Mactaggart Foundation, Hannaford, Kapikarnpi Community Fund, Scenic World Shared, The Bertalli Family Foundation, The Julian Flett Endowment, The R.E. Ross Trust, The Sylvia & Charles Viertel Charitable Foundation, various Friends of FRRR, William Buckland Foundation and Yulgilbar Foundation.