LNP Selects New Parliamentary Leader


Deb Frecklington will lead the LNP in the new Parliament with Tim Mander as her deputy.

The party met for just on an hour today before Party whip Trevor Watt made the announcement.

Ms Frecklington won the day after challenges from former leader John-Paul Langbroek and Cleveland backbencher Mark Robinson.

North Queensland MP Jason Costigan had also sought the deputy position but was defeated by Mr Mander.

Party Whip Trevor Watt says the new leadership team has solid support.

“Everybody was very supportive once the announcement was made. We’re very happy to have a new leadership team and we look forward very much to getting into the new parliament.”

Ms Frecklington served as former leader Tim Nicholls’s deputy while Mr Mander was a Newman Government minister.

Ms Frecklington is the first female leader of the LNP and only the second conservative leader in the state, after Joan Sheldon.