Additional Disaster Assistance

As the ongoing Queensland flood emergency continues, disaster assistance has been extended to the local government areas of Barcoo, Boulia, Lockhart River, Longreach, Mackay, Mareeba and Mount Isa, as well as primary producers in Winton.

In addition, impacted individuals and families in Cloncurry, Flinders, McKinlay and Richmond can now access personal hardship assistance.


Assistance is being provided through the jointly funded Commonwealth-Queensland Disaster Recovery Funding Arrangements (DRFA).

Assistant Minister for Home Affairs Senator the Hon. Linda Reynolds, who has responsibility for Commonwealth disaster assistance, says that all levels of government were working together to support Queenslanders.

Queensland Minister for Fire and Emergency Services Craig Crawford says in addition to assistance for local governments, primary producers in Winton can now access low interest disaster assistance loans and freight subsidies.

A range of DRFA assistance is now available in 28 local government areas in northern and western Queensland: Barcoo, Boulia, Burdekin, Cairns, Carpentaria, Charters Towers, Cloncurry, Cook, Croydon, Douglas, Etheridge, Flinders, Hinchinbrook, Hope Vale, Lockhart River, Longreach, Mackay, Mareeba, McKinlay, Mornington, Mount Isa, Palm Island, Richmond, Townsville, Whitsunday, Winton, Wujal Wujal and Yarrabah.

Information on disaster assistance can be found on the Australian Government’s Disaster Assist website at and the Queensland Government’s Disaster Management website at